Skip to content

Wow! These Oats Are Good

February 4, 2011

Well, yesterday was my Friday, so happy REAL Friday to you!

I was so excited last night because Michael came home with some hot chocolate from our friend Joel.

I love me some hot chocolate! Of course, I had to try some immediately and after much careful thought and consideration, I decided on the white chocolate (and made it with unsweetened vanilla almond milk).

So good!  Joel is clearly the best financial advisor in all the world…and I’m not just saying that because he asked me to say it. 😉

My breakfast creation this morning was so good that it made me say, “Wow” out loud ( would that be WOL?).

And with some toppings…

Hazelnut Maple Oatmeal

Ingredients
1/4 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk
1/4 cup water
Pinch of salt
Dash of cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
1/4 cup quick-cooking oats
1/2 banana (make sure it is very ripe and mashed)
1 tablespoon maple syrup
1 tablespoon chopped hazelnuts

Combine the milk, water and salt in a medium saucepan; heat until almost boiling. Add oats, vanilla, and cinnamon.  Cook, stirring, until creamy. Remove from heat and stir in mashed banana.  Drizzle maple syrup on top and sprinkle with hazelnuts.

Well, I have a surprise to work on for Michael today (more details later) and some errands to run.

Have a great day!

Any big plans for the weekend?


2 Comments
  1. February 4, 2011 6:07 PM

    I want to make those oats! Anything with maple is delicious in my opinion 🙂

Comments are closed.

