Skip to content

Let’s Get Serious

February 2, 2011

Hello everyone!

I’m going to get serious for a little bit…

OK, I really mean it now….

On Monday, I revealed that I made a life-changing decision and promised to share the details.

To get right down to it, I’ve worked in the same boring old desk job unhappily for the past 3.5 years and on Monday… I quit.

For as long as I can remember, I wanted a career in the field of nutrition and health.  Unfortunately, I convinced myself in college that I couldn’t handle the science part of it, and I ended up majoring in English…because it was safer to me.

For the past 8 years, I’ve wished that I had been braver back then and wished that I didn’t let fear and self-doubt stand in my way.  I felt hopeless and would beat myself up over the fact that I was stuck in a career that I didn’t find to be at all fulfilling.

Finally, I realized (with the help of my fabulous husband) that if I truly wanted to live out my dreams then I’d have to make them happen.  Complaining about my current situation certainly wasn’t working out for me, so I figured that I’d have nothing to lose…and I enrolled in nutrition school.

Throughout months of studying (all while still working), I began to feel excited about potentially starting a new career.  I couldn’t wait for the day when I’d wake up and be excited to go to work.  I even taped this quote to my computer screen at work to motivate myself.

“Go confidently in the direction of your dreams- live the life you’ve always imagined.”

But when Michael approached me back in December about quitting my job this year to start my own nutrition and wellness business, my immediate reaction wasn’t excitement.  It was fear.

What if I failed?  What if I wasn’t any good at it?

I kept making up excuses for why it wouldn’t be the right time to take the chance.  Taking the chance was just too risky.  Too scary.

One day, I happened to read a post by Angela on how she changed careers to pursue her dreams.  I related to every word that she wrote and connected with her message so strongly.  She helped me realize that change is always going to be scary.  There will always be a chance that it won’t work out.  However, it is better to take the risk and than not to try at all. 

And with the support of my loving husband and my wonderful friends and family, I marched my little booty into my bosses’ office this week and said no to my fear and reservations and yes to following my dreams!

My last day at my current job will be at the end of this month. I won’t lie- I’m still a little nervous, overwhelmed, and afraid.  However, I’m proud to say that more than anything, I’m completely overjoyed and excited.

In fact, I’m dancing on the ceiling!

(Obviously, the serious portion of this post has come to a conclusion.)

Have you made any major decisions lately?  Did they work out for you?  I’d love to hear your stories!  Thanks for taking the time to read my story. 

Have a wonderful day!

9 Comments
  1. February 2, 2011 8:43 AM

    OMG! How wonderful and exciting! Good for you! I’m so excited for you!

  2. Nikki M. permalink
    February 2, 2011 8:44 AM

    Yay for you!! I can’t wait to hear about your new adventure! I’ll say a prayer for you and I’m sure everything will work out for the best, it always does! I love it when people follow their heart/dreams 🙂

    • February 2, 2011 8:57 AM

      Thank you so so much! It means a lot to have so much support from so many wonderful people!

  3. February 2, 2011 2:12 PM

    im so so excited for you!! all the BEST!!!

  4. February 2, 2011 2:43 PM

    GOOD FOR YOU for chasing your dreams!!!!!!!!! I wish I could do that… that is my dream job! I just need to figure out how to become a certified coach. I’m currently getting my MPH, but it’d be neat to have both!

    • February 2, 2011 2:45 PM

      I’ll send you a note about it tonight. Maybe we can meet up since we’re both in Charlotte! 🙂

  5. February 2, 2011 10:25 PM

    I am so EXCITED for you love!!!! U only live once and should NOT be doing something you dont love, its not worth it, doing what you love is the most rewarding thing in the world no matter if you make alot of money or none, its the fact that you wake up everyday and LOVE what you do , and sometimes in life it can take a while to find out what it is, but different paths lead us to it ; )

    Congrats girl! I feel like I should have a glass of wine for you this weekend ; ) this post made me happy! I love seeing people follow their dreams ! Remember too, fear is normal, just dont let fear overtake your dreams ; ) xoxo

    • February 3, 2011 7:13 AM

      You’re such a sweetheart! I hope that you did have a glass of wine for me! 🙂

Comments are closed.

