Skip to content

Taming Your Inner Cookie Monster

January 18, 2011

Goooood morning!

Hope your day is off to a fantasmic start.  I just tried a Larabar flavor that I’ve been hesitant to try for ages.  Lemon.

I’m typically not a fan of lemon flavored things, but I am pleased to report that I loved this!  It reminded me of lemon meringue pie…only better!  Well, I actually don’t like lemon meringue pie, so I guess that’s not really saying much!

Anyway, I cannot wait to get my little hands on the blueberry muffin flavor next. 🙂

To expand upon my post from yesterday, I thought I’d share my favorite tips for living a balanced lifestyle.

Load up on vegetables. I always treat vegetables as my main course and consider meat, poultry, bread, and pasta as my sides.

Don’t deprive yourself. If you ban certain foods from your diet, you’ll most likely only end up pigging out on them later.  If  you want a cookie, you can have a cookie!  A lot of the time, just a few bites of something that you’re craving will be enough to satisfy you.  And of course, there are other times when the Cookie Monster takes over your body and that’s OK too…just so long as it isn’t a frequent occurrence.

Choose your splurges wisely.  When I order dessert in a restaurant, it has to be something that I really want.   I rarely pass up apple pie or anything with peanut butter, but if something on the menu doesn’t really call to me, I don’t order dessert.

Remember that you can always eat it again! Something that I recently realized (an Oprah “a-ha moment”, if will) is that I don’t have to finish something if I am full just because it tastes good.  Unless there is some freak worldwide cookie shortage, I know that I can always have one again.

Plan ahead. For instance, I know that on Sunday, I am usually going to have a big ol’ hunk of beef for dinner, so I plan accordingly throughout the day.  You won’t catch me chowing down on a Big Mac for lunch that day (although I did that once)!

What are your tips for enjoying a deprivation free life?

Tonight I am going to make turkey meatloaf muffins for dinner.  I’ll be posting the recipe tomorrow, so be sure to check back for it. 🙂

Have a great day!

Erin

4 Comments
  1. January 18, 2011 11:19 AM

    Planning for me makes all the difference. All great tips!

  2. January 18, 2011 1:22 PM

    “Remember that you can always eat it again! ” AHH love this!! i need to say this to myself more often! and yum for the lemon larabar.. i would never have picked lemon but lemon pie- YES!

  3. January 18, 2011 2:47 PM

    I just need to keep in mind why I want to look the way I want to look/feel the way I want to feel before digging into that…. 12th (?) cookie. 😉 sometimes it works! ..heh.

  4. January 18, 2011 9:45 PM

    Love these tips! The only way I survive is by the don’t deprive rule….when I deprive myself, I am miserable and usually end up pigging out on something I don’t really want!

Comments are closed.

