Skip to content

Steak, Wine, and Popcorn Sundays

January 17, 2011

Hello!

I hope that you had a great weekend.  🙂

Nearly every Sunday since Michael and I have been a couple, we’ve had “Steak, Wine, and Popcorn Sundays” together.

We grill up steaks seasoned with just garlic salt and pepper and serve ’em up with some salads and wine. 

After dinner, we pop a bucket of popcorn and watch a movie.

Yes, I’m wearing a Snuggie.  Actually, it is a Slanket– a thicker better quality version.  Because I am cool like that. 😉

Sometimes family or friends will ask me how I stay so slim when I eat steak every week.  The answer is simple.  I don’t eat steak everyday! 

It is all about balance. 

In fact, I try to eat 2-3 vegetarian meals per week and always add vegetables to whatever I am eating. 

We buy our steaks from a local meat shop, and the beef is grass fed and hormone free.  We drive to the shop every Sunday to pick out our cuts of beef and then we prepare dinner together with some music playing  in the background.

It is our Sunday tradition.  And I love it.

This Sunday, I made Thousand Island Dressing for Michael’s salad.   As I’ve said before, I love making homemade dressing because I know that there isn’t any funny stuff added to it…unless I put it in there. 😉

Thousand Island Dressing

Ingredients
1 quart water
1 large egg
½ cup Vegenaise
½ cup Non-fat or low-fat plain Greek yogurt
2 tbsp. Sweet pickle relish
¼ cup Ketchup (I use Simply Heinz or Annie’s)
1 tbsp. Shallot (minced), optional
⅛ tsp. Pepper
⅛ tsp. salt

Make one hard boiled egg. Remove the egg from hot water and let stand while mixing other ingredients.

Stir all remaining ingredients together in a mixing bowl. Crack the egg shell and then run under cold water. Peel the hard boiled egg, slice, and add to dressing. Mix well.

Refrigerate 1 hour before serving. Keeps 4-5 days.

Do you have any weekly rituals or traditions?

Have a great day!

Erin

6 Comments
  1. January 17, 2011 10:39 AM

    Girl you are so cute! I love your popcorn bucket:)

    • January 17, 2011 10:45 AM

      Is that a big honkin’ bucket or what? I can polish it off in record time too! 😉

  2. January 17, 2011 12:10 PM

    Yes I have a rule I follow,I always have veggies with dinner, No matter what. AndI make sure to drink lot sof water daily!

  3. January 17, 2011 2:56 PM

    whatt? i have never heard of a slanket- so much for my snuggie!

  4. January 17, 2011 3:35 PM

    I’m guilty of owning a snuggle/slanket as well. They are rediculous yet perfect for cold nights on the couch!

  5. January 17, 2011 9:50 PM

    What an awesome tradition!! Our traditions are big breakfasts on the weekend and a meal that takes more time on either Saturday or Sunday night!

    I love my Snuggie…it’s so comfy! 🙂

Comments are closed.

