Skip to content

Better Than Takeout

January 15, 2011

Hello!

I hope that you’re having a good weekend so far!

Last night, I made Chinese food based on a recipe from The I ♥ Trader Joe’s Cookbook (with some slight modifications).

I’ve always loved Chinese food.  My mom says it is because that’s pretty much all she ate when she was pregnant with me.  🙂

The only thing that I don’t like about Chinese takeout is the high sodium content and post-eating bloat. Lovely.  Not!  (Oh dear Lord…I just flashed us all back to 1990…)

It was ridiculously easy to make, and so much healthier than Chinese takeout, and honestly… I think I like the at home version better!

General Tsao Chicken

Adapted from The I ♥ Trader Joe’s Cookbook

Ingredients
1 tablespoon canola oil
1/2 pound boneless chicken breasts
Approximately 1/4 cup Trader Joe’s General Tsao Stir Fry Sauce

In a medium saute pan, heat the oil and saute chicken over medium-high heat until cooked through.  Cut the chicken into pieces with a knife.  Stir in General Tsao sauce until the mixture is moist but not too drippy.  Serve over brown rice.

Serves: 4
Prep Time: 5 minutes
Cooking Time: Less than 10 minutes (doesn’t take rice and vegetables into consideration)

We added roasted broccoli, peppers, carrots, and mushrooms to our mix, and I had my dish without the rice since I was in the mood for a whopping hunk of veggies!

Michael and I just loved this!  It will definitely be on our regular dinner rotation.

This is way too simple and way too yummy not to try at home.  Get thee to Trader Joe’s for some sauce!  Although, I am sure that you can find a substitute for the sauce if you don’t live near a TJs location. 😉

Do you ever make your own version of takeout food at home?

5 Comments
  1. January 15, 2011 5:53 PM

    I love that sauce from Trader Joe’s! We use it often!! Your dinner looks great!

  2. January 16, 2011 3:08 AM

    ive never made takeout like this! maybe homemade pizza.. but wow! this looks really great- i love how simple and clean the ingredients are

  3. January 16, 2011 8:08 AM

    Chinese food is one of my favorite foods to recreate because the real version is so high in calories and fat! Love this recipe!

  4. January 16, 2011 11:48 AM

    I love your website!
    Makes me want to go to Trader Joe’s. I forget how much I love that place!

    • January 16, 2011 12:55 PM

      It truly is a little piece of heaven on earth, isn’t it? 🙂 And thank you for the compliment! 🙂

Comments are closed.

